+63 49 541 1211 - to 25 admissions@aup.edu.ph


63 Graduates Celebrate 5th COM Commencement Exercises

Jun 30, 2023

The AUP College of Medicine celebrated its 5th commencement exercises with 63 graduates from Sinagtala Class of 2023 , the largest number of graduates ever for the College, on June 23-25, 2023.

“You are ready to arise and shine,”  Pastor Jose Manalo, the AUP Alumni of Western North America president, conveyed. He also challenged the graduates to take Jesus Christ as the Light of their life in this dark world.

During the baccalaureate service, Dr. Arceli Rosario, AUP president, shared the characteristics of a star physician and how star physicians should shine—shine with joy, love, faith, and courage. “You are a star physician. Keep on shining,” Dr. Rosario remarked.

For the tribute to parents, faculty and staff, Pastor Abdul Rajagukguk, Adventist Medical Center-Manila marketing, public relations, and philanthropic services director, inspired the graduates to “have a fruitful mission.”

During the commencement service, Dr. Zeno Charles-Marcel, General Conference Health Ministries Department of the Seventh-day Adventist Church associate director, encouraged the graduates to reflect God’s light not only in the medical practice but also in every aspect of their life.

Awarding of diplomas and investiture of academic hoods was done by Dr. Doris Mendoza, AUP College of Medicine founding and current dean; Dr. Arceli Rosario, AUP president; and Dr. Gracel Ann Saban, vice president for academics. Seven received Latin awards (cum laude), namely Jeanmuelle Desiree Kae Balintongog, Aldwin Ivan Bandiola, Yaro Caracas, Kim Gutierrez,  Amiel Lorenzo, Magela Ainah Mallari, and Nina Kathlyn Valmocena. Dean’s Award were received by Matt Elton Arit and Myles Rosario.

For the Most Outstanding Clinical Clerks Awards, Dr. Teresita Risalyn Villanueva, head training officer of Batangas Medical Center, presented 10 awards for clerkship at Batangas Medical Center, namely:  Marc Philip Ocoma (2 awards), Lois Kyle Zabat, Kathleen Jhoanne Martinez, Kim Gutierrez, Matt Elton Arit, Mariell Bernadette Archeta, Amiel Lorenzo, Alecs Krizel Andaya, and Vanessa Francisco;  while Dr. Linda Varona, clinical clerkship coordinator of the Adventist Medical Center Manila, presented awards to Aldwin Ivan Bandiola, Myles Rosario, Lara Mae Navea, and Lois Kyle Zabat. Two received the Overall Most Outstanding Clinical Clerks Award, namely Loise Kyle Zabat and Marc Philip Ocama. The six Loma Linda University clinical clerkship rotators were given recognition, namely:  Jeanmuelle Desiree Kae Balintongog, Daryka Feb Ejercitado, Ingrid Idyll Tornalejo, Matt Elton Arit, Yaro Caracas, and Kim Guiterrez.

Furthermore, Aldwin Ivan Bandiola and Lois Kyle Zabat were honored as among the 2023 Ten Most Outstanding Medical Students in the Philippines, regional and national categories, respectively. Marc Philip Ocoma and Myles Rosario received individually the Physician-Missionary Award; Lois Kyle Zabat received the Outstanding Leadership Award; and finally, the Most Outstanding Medical Student’s Award, also known as the Most Distinguished ACE (academic excellence, Christlike character, and exemplary service) Award was given to Jeanmuelle Desiree Kae Balintongog, the Sinagtala Class valedictorian and class president.


Study at AUP!

Choose a better future for your children, or for yourself. Not just for the next few years, but by God’s grace, even for an eternity.